Knowledge Base

Adding Employees Into System

Adding an employee to the scheduling System is fairly straightforward. To add an employee, click Employees in the left hand module menu, and then add / edit Employees.


From there, we will click + Add User in the upper right hand corner of your screen.




The required fields are noted with a red asterix (*).


Note: The employee ID is an optional field. Use the employee ID to track employees via a company specific ID #, for example. The Secondary email is an option second email address that can be used redundantly with the primary email address on file.

CallBack Eligible box at the bottom is an option available to admin users to indicate if an employee should be eligible to receive CallBack opportunities. If unchecked, the employee will not receive CallBack shift opportunities.

Once you are finished with the first tab 'Employee Details', click the next tab, 'Contact Info'.


The second tab provides the contact information for the employee. The Primary Phone # is the main phone number the employee would like to be contacted on. Organizations can elect to have a secondary number for an additional monthly fee. This allows the system to contact a secondary number in the event the employee is not reached on the primary number. For employees and organizations who has setup Alpha Paging in their system options, a Pager ID # is also available. The format for the pager ID# should be 7 digits in length, ie: 5555555, omitting the area code.


The Pin is a unique 4 digit pin number set by the employee. This is used when calling into the toll-free number. By entering the employee ID# and pin# the employee can hear all available shifts open to them. The default pin # is 0000.


The TimeClock PIN will be necessary if your agency utilizes the TimeClock module. This module will be released at a later date. Stay tuned!


The CallBack Contact Method is the method chosen by the employee for how they want to be contacted for CallBack opportunities on their primary number. The CallBack Contact Method for secondary number is how they want to receive CallBack opportunities on the fallback / secondary number, if enabled.


The Alerts Contact Method is the method chosen by the employee for how they want to be contacted for Alert Notifications on their primary number. The Alerts Contact Method  for secondary number is how they want to receive Alert notifications on their fallback / secondary number, if enabled.


Do Not Disturb is a feature available for an employee to set a time that they do not want to be contacted for CallBack shifts. By setting the do not disturb time; if a CallBack tries to notify them during that time, they will automatically be skipped over. In this case, the CallBack history log will indicate a 'skipped' notation.


Send Callback E-mails check or uncheck this box to have the employee receives emails every time a CallBack shift opportunity is offered to them.


Once you are finished with the second tab 'Contact Info', click the next tab, 'List(s) / Groups / etc.'


CallBack List(s): The position / title(s) that are assigned to this employee.  i.e. Firefighter, Engineer, Battalion Chief, Sergeant, Officer, Paramedic, EMT


Group(s): Used to indicate the groups that this employee is a part of.  i.e. A Shift, B Shift, C Shift, Day Shift, Night Shift, Swing Shift, ED Department


Specialty Classification Filters: Used to further filter the employee down by classification or filter. i.e. Station, Management, Admin, Team Leader, Trainer, SWAT


Permission Level: The permission level of this employee to navigate around in the scheduling system.


Ignore max. consecutive hours setting: If checked, this employee can work past the max consecutive hour setting indicated in the system options.

Weekly work limit: Used to set a maximum weekly work limit for the employee (optional). Work week is defined in the system settings under the misc tab.

Fatigue Tracking:  Used to track employee fatigue levels. These settings set the upper limit for each employee. 

Once you are finished with the 'List(s) / Groups / etc.' click the third tab, Time-Off Accrual.

Date of Hire / Promotion: The date of hire / promotion for this employee. This setting is often used with certain Organizations ranking rules to give CallBack shifts to employee who have been employee longest, first. If your organization does not use a customized seniority based ranking system for CallBack shift offerings, this is just a simple way of tracking the employees date of hire / promotion.


When finished entering the information for the employee, click the green Save button: 


You can Deactivate an employee by clicking on the red deactivate button within the employee profile. It's important to note that before you deactivate an employee, you will want to go in and end any recurring assignments they have been scheduled on in a repeating pattern.  Basically you want to remove them from any future shifts they have been scheduled to work.  The best way to ensure you end all of their recurring assignments is by looking at the employee's Day Planner. That is the easiest way to see all of their scheduled shifts. 




By deactivating an employee, they will no longer be able to be utilized in the system. They cannot be scheduled, notified, etc. They can longer log in.  All of their historical information will remain within the system, however, they cannot be 'utilized' in any way. The deactivated employee's user license will now be available for to use for a new employee. To view the deactivated employees, click Employees in the menu, then Add / Edit Employees, and finally the Inactivate tab. 




The list of Inactivated users will then appear. You can re-activated an employee by clicking on Reactivate instead of Deactivate.


You can also Delete a user from the system by clicking on the red trash can next to their profile in the table view.  



*If you Delete an employee, all historical data will be lost. Deleted data cannot be recovered in the system. Before you Delete an employee, be sure that you no longer will need access to any historical data regarding that employee!


Note: You can only add up to the maximum amount of Active licensed users you have purchased.


    • Related Articles

    • Deactivating / Deleting Employees

      Deactivating a Employee: You can Deactivate an employee by clicking on the red deactivate button within the employee profile. To find the deactivate button go to the Employees module > add/edit Employees > click on the blue pencil icon next to the ...
    • Add / Edit Employees

      In order to add / edit employees in the system, we'll use the Add / Edit Employee selection from the left hand module menu.  This is where you will input all of the users of the system, and assign ranks / titles / groups and permission levels. To ...
    • User Permissions Key

      The Scheduling platform has a built-in user permissions module that allows you to set user permissions on a per-employee basis. In this article, we have put together a 'Key' for you to refer to when deciding which permissions you'd like to enable for ...
    • System Settings

      System Settings Clicking on the 'admin' cog next to your company name on the top toolbar will take you into the 'System Settings' for your scheduling system. There are a lot of changes that can be made from here. This article will help you navigate ...
    • User Selectable Home Page

      Users are able to select exactly which page they wish to be routed to when they first log in. Administrators can also select their pages.  To Select your Page: Go to your user name and select Edit Profile Scroll down to the bottom of your profile and ...